Eating gluten-free

Sans gluten (c) Roobcio shutterstock

Sans gluten (c) Roobcio shutterstock

Gluten free (c) Roobcio shutterstock

Logically prescribed for intolerant people, gluten-free nutrition is becoming more and more popular. One thing is certain: fresh fruit and vegetables and potatoes are 100% “gluten free”, so there’s no reason to deprive yourself of them! Explanations.

Gluten, did you say gluten?

Gluten is a protein contained in certain cereals, the consumption of which can cause an allergic-type reaction. Specifically, gluten cannot be digested by the human body in this case. Whether you have a known gluten intolerance or simply wish to reduce your consumption, it is never easy to change your diet, especially since gluten is hidden everywhere in our food.

Where is he hiding?

Gluten is present in many preparations. Wheat, spelt, oats, rye, barley and all their derivatives (flours, bread, pasta, cookies …) contain it. In industrial food and most processed products, gluten is used as an additive: ready-to-use sauces, soy sauce, delicatessen, cakes, sweets…

If you wish to eliminate or reduce the gluten content in your diet, it is important to favour raw products (fruits, vegetables, potatoes, meat, fish, dairy products…) and to cook them yourself to be sure of the content of your plate.

Céréales ©Bildagentur-Zoonar-GmbH-shutterstock

Cereals ©Bildagentur-Zoonar-GmbH-shutterstock

It is also found in less “expected” foods. Culinary aids such as sauce bases, bouillon cubes, powdered spices, baking powder or mustard may contain wheat flour. This same flour can be used as a binder in a simple forest frying pan in a frozen bag. It is also sometimes found in the composition of certain candies and chocolates.

A careful reading of the labels will tell you whether or not cereals such as wheat are present, and therefore whether or not they contain gluten.

100% gluten free food

To optimize a gluten-free diet, you can rely on these product categories :

  • Fresh fruits and vegetables. Priority is given to raw fruits and vegetables, which you will prepare at home. Compotes and juices fall into this category, but not cooked fruits and vegetables (beware of seasoned mixed salads!).
  • Potatoes. They do not contain gluten and are a good alternative to pasta. Potato starch can also replace wheat flour to make sauces, soups, pancakes, cakes…
  • Meat and fish. Raw, they are suitable for the gluten-free diet. As soon as they are breaded or marinated, it’s something else .
  • Dairy. No risk with milk, yoghurts, cottage cheese, traditional ripened cheeses. Check the labels of spreadable cheeses and desserts. The presence of wheat is likely.
  • Cereals. To replace those that are sources of gluten, opt for rice, quinoa, buckwheat or corn. These cereals are also available in flours and semolina for the preparation of bread, pasta and pastries.
  • Finally, the basics such as oil, butter, sugar, honey and jam are gluten-free.
Miel (c) Vladimir Kovalchuk shutterstock

Honey (c) Vladimir Kovalchuk shutterstock

In the kitchen, good reflexes: 

  • Cooking that is certified gluten-free and 100% flavorful, it’s relatively simple!
  • Favour seasonality by buying fresh and raw products.
  • Bind and thicken your sauces with crème fraîche, corn starch or potato starch.
  • Season your dishes with herbs and fresh herbs. Remember that once washed, dried and chopped, chives, parsley, mint and coriander freeze easily. And don’t forget garlic, onion and shallot.
  • Think of alternatives such as rice and cornmeal flours to make your pie dough, homemade cakes and even tasty pancakes and waffles.
  • And also think of the potato, which, in the form of starch, mashed potatoes or cakes, can be an excellent alternative to replace pizza dough, for example, or be used as cake dough.

Click here to discover all my gluten-free recipes.

Source: www.lesfruitsetlegumesfrais.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *